Alone.

Turning tirelessly on my bed,
I sought for peace I couldn’t find.
My mind, wandering from my being,
I could feel my sanity being placed on a beam.

The roof, carving in,
The four walls, closing in.
The drum beats became louder,
The nightmares became brighter.

I stared into the face of emptiness, 
And the blank air gazed back at me.
Arms stretched wide,  hoping for am embrace,
And yes, an embrace I did receive,
But from the uncaring wind.

Eyes closed,
I formed a picture in my head.
And yet once again,
I wish I wasn’t so alone.

Leave a Reply

