Insanity.

The drum beats ceased,
The night cries stopped.

The full moon shone through the dark skies,
And for a moment,  I thought I was whole again.

I heard a voice,
I heard a sound.

Through the dead of the night,
A croaky laughter from a drunken god.

Silence followed,
And then a sharp cry.

Voices in hush tones were raised,
And I could feel their stares piercing through my brains.

Steadily,  the unseen being pounded the drums,
Vigorously,  the young men stamped their feet.

Gradually,  the drunken god danced on my case,
And then suddenly, I knew my sanity was a waste.

Leave a Reply

